5 freelancer invoicing and client management tools: Bonsai, HoneyBook, FreshBooks, Dubsado and Plutio. Not ranked.
Of these, 1 states a recurring payout (lifetime, ongoing or a set number of months), 3 are recorded as one-time and 1 does not state a payout period. 1 of the commission texts gives an “up to” rate or amount, which is a ceiling rather than a guaranteed rate.
Bonsai has the longest cookie here, 60 days. Plutio: Recurring 15% cash commission of every referral. 2 of 5 approve automatically.
Terms were checked between 2026-10-05 and 2026-11-01 against each program's own terms or partner page. Open a program page for its source link.
| Name | Commission | Cookie | Recurring | Approval | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VerifiedBonsai | 200% of the referral's first monthly payment (monthly plans); 30% for any yearly plan | 60 days | Not stated | manual | 2026-10-05 |
| VerifiedHoneyBook | $50 commission for every Qualified Referral that remains subscribed and in good standing for 100 days (annual or monthly subscription); referred customers get 25% off eligible subscriptions | 30 days | One-time | manual | 2026-11-01 |
| VerifiedFreshBooks | $10 for every qualified free trial; up to $200 for each paid plan (based on plan type) | Not disclosed | One-time | manual | 2026-11-01 |
| VerifiedDubsado | One-time flat payout per qualifying referral (referral must keep a paid plan for 60 days): Affiliate $35 (referral gets 20% off); Partner (invite) $50 (30% off code); Expert Partner (apply/invite) $75 (30% off code) | Not disclosed | One-time | auto | 2026-11-01 |
| VerifiedPlutio | Recurring 15% cash commission of every referral | Not disclosed | Ongoing | auto | 2026-11-01 |
Notes from the program records
From each program's AffilMap record.
- Bonsai: ACCOUNTING/INVOICING + agency PM. Affiliate T&C (hellobonsai.com/affiliates/affiliate-program-terms-conditions): paid monthly, $100 min payout, commissions issued 35 days after month end; applications reviewed (objectionable accounts 'not approved'); no cookie stuffing/coupon-click tricks; unwithdrawn commissions expire after 2 years. Page does not state whether renewals earn commission.
- HoneyBook: You earn a flat one-time fee, paid to your bank account. Attribution is last click; another affiliate's link within 30 days overrides yours. You must be 18 or older. HoneyBook is only available in the US, Canada, UK and Australia, and fees for members outside the US may change with exchange rates.
- FreshBooks: PartnerStack; 30-day eligibility window; PayPal or Stripe. FAQ boilerplate says commissions last lifetime unless otherwise stated - offer is per-event.
- Dubsado: Open to every Dubsado user, including trials. You must be 18 or older and submit tax forms. The program is moving to Dub, with monthly payouts. No cap, and links never expire. Minimum payout is not stated.
- Plutio: FREELANCER ALL-IN-ONE. T&C: commissions issued 62 days after end of month; paid monthly, $50 minimum; strict coupon-site/cookie-stuffing rules. Payout method not extracted. Blog mentions 20% after 5 sales - not on affiliate page, not used.